Spring 2017 Preview

For those of you who have been faithfully following, I figured I would give you something to look forward to in the New Year.

So this is the first time in 19 years that I have not been in school for fall semester, and I will not be for spring semester either. In the past, I’ve had opportunities to attend certain conferences with scholarship money from school, but I rarely took the chance because going to conferences meant I would have a shitload of work to catch up on when I got back to school.

This year, however, I have the ability to take time off from work to go to all the conferences I couldn’t attend in past years. Granted, the price I pay (no pun intended) is that I won’t get paid for the weeks that I’m gone, but it’s something I’m willing to forego for the experience.

Thus, in the coming months, I plan to do a minimum of one pre-conference post to talk about why I’m going to that particular conference and what I expect, and one post-conference post to talk about whether or not the experience met my expectations and was worth the cost. This timeline is tentative at the moment, but I hope to be attending Creating Change, The Placement Exchange, NASPA, and CLPP.

  1. Creating Change

    Philadelphia, PA

    January 18-22, 2017

    Likelihood that I will go: 100%, as the ticket is paid for and God is willing

    According to the website, the Creating Change Conference is the “pre-eminent political, leadership and skills-building conference for the LGBTQ social justice movement.” From what I can gather, there are supposed to be 3 or 4 day-long “institutes”, 8 workshop sessions, and 2 caucuses/network sessions. The website hasn’t put up the definitive workshop schedule yet, so I’m not sure what exactly I have to look forward to, but mostly, I’m just curious. I’ve never really been around queers in the professional world, so I’m interested to see what the national conversation around queer issues is about.

  2. The Placement Exchange

    San Antonio, TX

    March 8-12, 2017

    Likelihood that I will go: 50%, depends on how my wallet is doing then

    From what I have heard, this is basically a gargantuan, 4-day interview for student affairs professionals. It is literally interviews for 4 days to give new graduates or aspiring student affairs professionals a chance at placement (hence, The Placement Exchange). Honestly, this conference looks like a pain in my ass, but I figure I’ll give it a shot because why not? There’s a possibility that someone out there will like me.

  3. NASPA (National Association of Student Personnel Administrators)

    San Antonio, TX

    March 11-15

     Likelihood that I will go: 50%, looks interesting, but it’s really expensive

    You’ll notice that the dates for this conference overlap with the dates for The Placement Exchange. If TPE gets boring for me, I’ll most likely switch to this one. The first round of speakers has been announced, and they are Anderson Cooper, Bree Newsome, and Chris Mosier. So clearly, this conference is a big deal. I’m curious about the dialogue going on here, too. What are student affairs professionals doing/talking about on the national front? Currently, I have no idea. Maybe I’ll find out.

  4. CLPP (Civil Liberties and Public Policy)

    Amherst, MA

    April 7-9

    Likelihood that I will go: 30% at the moment, depends on cost and logistics

    This conference focuses on reproductive freedom. I have some personal stakes in this conference, so I’m really hoping things pan out. There is absolutely nothing up on the website yet, but I expect some radical shit to go down.

 

Right, so that’s my tentative plan for spring semester. I’m sure you all will continue to hear from me about books and movies, the regular stuff. I will keep you posted if plans change. Hope you are having a good December!

One comment

Leave a Reply

