Day 1 on Tinder

I think one of the reasons why this whole online dating process feels so bizarre to me is because it actually takes me a little while to figure out I’m attracted to people. I’ve got to have at least one conversation with them, online or otherwise. I thought about it and I realized OkCupid and Tinder are just basically Facebook. What differentiates online dating platforms from something like Facebook? You know for a fact that 99.9% of the people you see on these platforms are looking for a partner, whether that’s romantic, sexual, or both. Some of them are doing that just by looking at a picture of you. Isn’t that weird?!

I created a Tinder account, too. This app makes…absolutely…no sense. If you wanted to, you could literally just swipe right for hot, left for not. That’s Tinder in a nutshell. Some people write stuff in the little profiles, which I’ve actually been reading because I swiped right on a 21-year-old not too long ago, and I’d like to be seeing someone who is at least my age, thank you very much.

On Tinder, I give much more credit to folks who get creative. There was a profile not too long ago that was created by a guy posing as a glitch, claiming he was just bits of stuff put together. His pictures were, as he describes them, “a mix of photography, 3d modeling, and glitch art”. I messaged him.

I also messaged a guy who had a cello in one of his photos.

Both have replied, which is kind of exciting. Although why I am more excited on Tinder than I am on OKCupid escapes me at the moment. I get this vibe that Tinder users are just being slightly more honest, and are not as likely to be fuckbois. That might just be because I’m impressed by all the bells-and-whistles of a cleanly designed dating app. It just seems more legit.

I also have 4 other matches, and one message I don’t plan to reply to. All matches so far have been from men.

I’m sure I will have more thoughts on this soon.

Leave a Reply

